The Kelly S. King Academy
of Faux Painting & Decorative Finishing, Inc.™
is a member of the


Student & Industry Testimonials

The Kelly S. King Academy of Faux Painting & Decorative Finishing, Inc. is honored to receive so many kind words from our students and other professionals in the industry.  These letters and comments make it all worthwhile, and we wanted to take this opportunity to share some of them with you.


March 8, 2006

Kelly,

I hope this email finds you well and fully recovered from your surgery.  You have been in my thoughts.  I thank you again for yet another spectacular class - Intricacies.  Every time I have the opportunity to study with you I realize that I am apprenticing with a true Master.  Thank you for sharing so generously.  Kay, Christine, and I had such a good time together that we are trying to figure out when we can take another of your classes together.  Thanks for all the fun!

Your Friend,

Willow Kushler
Lynnwood, WA


February 21, 2006

Dear (KSK Specialty Class Instructors) Randy & Brian,

Thank you for changing me! I will never be who I was, because your Clouds class challenged me so!

After I graduated from San Jose State University with a degree in Graphic Design and Fine Art, for some reason I pursued a career with United Airlines.  I still don't understand why.  Somehow I forgot to take care of my artistic interest.  Faux painting classes have sparked my interest, and your paintings have set me on fire.

With deep respect and appreciation,

Elizabeth Thomas
Aurora, CO

P.S.  Brian, thanks for the call.


October 21, 2005

Hi Kelly,

Many thanks to you and your team for a fabulous week in Mastering Designer & Architectural Wall Finishes.  I walked away with more than a learning experience, but also lasting memories that will carry me through a lifetime.  You run a #1, class act operation, and I am so proud to say that you are my mentor.  Please contact me if you are ever in Arizona.  It would be my pleasure to be your tour guide.

YOU have truly changed my life, and i can't thank you enough, Kelly.  I think that you are the best, and I admire you so much.

Take care and say hello to everyone for me.

Carmella Engels
Phoenix, AZ


October 19, 2005

Hi Kelly,

I wanted to let you know I just completed a parade of homes house-put three of the Intricacies techniques in it, along with several others, and it was a smash!  We won nine awards, faux and mural included!

I wanted to say THANKS so much for the terrific sample boards from class.  This house is getting a lot of press, so that has been a bunch of fun.  When my photographer gets my photos back to me, I will have to send you some.

Thanks again, Kelly!

Lorri


October 18, 2005

Dear Kelly,

Thanks so much for the outstanding class you put on last week.  I feel privileged to have spent a week with someone so knowledgeable and at the same time so giving of their talents.  Your operation is truly impressive and has inspired me to set greater goals.  The wealth of practical oKSKce and field concepts that you presented has already had a positive impact on my bottom line.  The impressive samples and new techniques are a welcomed addition to my portfolio, as well.  I look forward to seeing you in action again as the producer of The Fauxcademy of Decorative Finishing, something I'm sure you are equally adept at.

Thanks again, Kelly,

Craig Leavitt
Colorado Springs, CO


October 17, 2005

Kelly,

Lillis Painting & Decorating has been serving the Cedar Rapids/Marion, Iowa area since 1976.  We are a family run business, providing our clients with consistent professional painting and wallcovering, while maintaining the highest standards in the industry.

After several years of doing simple faux techniques on my own, we decided to invest in more personalized training to expand our business portfolio.  The Kelly S. King Academy of Faux Painting & Decorative Finishing, Inc. came highly recommended by one of your former students.  He told me the classes were intense, and he was exactly right.  I attended the August 2005 class, and it was the best decision I ever made!

Kelly, my experience with you and your entire staff was one of professional excellence.  The class time was instructive, the techniques were clearly taught, and the hands-on help was encouraging.  On top of all the above, it was fun!!

I came home with a portfolio that leaves people amazed.  My first contact with a former client resulted in five rooms booked!  As of this date, we are still two months booked and still growing.

To say that we are satisfied would be an understatement... Let me wholeheartedly recommend The Kelly S. King Academy of Faux Painting & Decorative Finishing, Inc. to anyone who is serious about their craft.  I look forward to attending additional classes in the future to enhance my capabilities even further.

Charles L. Lillis
Lillis Painting & Decorating
Marion, IA


August 24, 2005

Hi Kelly,

Just wanted to thank you for the unbelievable class that far exceeded my expectations in every way... and then some.  Your creative mind, sincerity, and generosity towards people and their well-being has helped push me that much closer to success.

In the last three days since returning from Omaha, it's like the decorative painting has taken on a life of its own.  I have already shown the portfolio numerous times, have a gallery owner who services high end clientele interested, and will be doing the re-decorating on a salon and spa.  (Ted Turner lives right up the street from me, and his girlfriend visits the spa regularly, so hey, we'll see what happens.)  I will keep in touch and send some photos once some projects are completed.

I will be taking some more classes, and thank you again.

Rick Elrod
Clarkesville, GA

P.S. GIT-R-DONE!


August 12, 2005

Hi Kelly!

Just thought I would let you know that I have now completed all of my work at the big house I had coming up when I sent my last email.  A man came to see it while I was there one day.  He was from Steam Boat Springs, Colorado.  He told me that he was a builder there, and he builds very high end multi-million dollar homes.  He told me that he had never seen finer finishes.  Another man was working there one afternoon installing tile and glass in the bath and showers.  He told me that he spends a lot of time working in big homes in Jackson Hole, and he wanted me to know how impressed he was because he had never seen such beautiful work - All thanks to you!!!!!

I have loved doing this, and I am making a really great name for myself - and it is all thanks to you.  Thank you, thank you!  I wish I could make it a full time venture.  Maybe soon. I work from 6:00 pm to 1:00 am every night.  My husband helped me by rolling base coats and clear coats - he was a doll.

Our 9th grandchild arrived yesterday afternoon, so we are leaving for St. Louis this evening.  Our youngest son and his little family are in St. Louis, where he is in medical school.  They had a little baby girl yesterday.

Hope all is well with you and your family.

I hope to attend another class this spring - so maybe I will see you soon.

Sharron Ziegler
Pinedale, WY


July 25, 2005

I just want to say how much I appreciate the superior level of instruction from the instructor Rhonda Canales and her facilitator Kim.  I have been to other faux schools, but none of them to me were even in the same league in terms of the high quality of your instructors.  In fact, I threw out most of my sample boards from the other schools because they don't compare to what I produced in your Mastering Designer & Architectural Wall Finishes class!  And I now have my own studio and have been amazing clients with the finishes I can now accomplish... thanks to Rhonda, Kim and the superior training they gave.

Thanks again--I can hardly wait for my next class!

Mike Coyle
Lander, WY


May 9, 2005

Hi Kelly,

Life has been great here in Wyoming since returning from your class in March.  I got home on a Sunday night, and the very next day I got seven rooms, which are now completed.  Even though I was a nervous wreck the whole while, they look great and I am pleased.  People are in awe, and one man even went home and got his wife and dad to come see what I had done.  Another man, an investor, said he usually can figure out how to do the finishes he sees, but thought mine were incredible and could not figure them out.  So, needless to say, you did a good job training me, and I am loving it!  I am starting in another house this week.

Hope all is well with you and your family.

Take care,

Sharron Ziegler
Pinedale, WY


April 28, 2005

Kelly,

I have quite a few questions for you.  But first... I wanted to take a moment to express my deep gratitude for your dedication to your craft, as well as the refined way in which you pulled all the aspects of the trade (painting skills, business aspects, application techniques, art, marketing, etc.) into the Mastering Designer & Architectural Wall Finishes class.  What a life-saver you are.  I will never forget you!

I guess I really want to explain how serious I am when I say this.  I have always been interested in taking my talents and using them to bless my family in some way (hoping that I am good at it).  But the "starving artist" stereotype has always kept me from pushing any further down the road.

Like many of my friends from college, I started looking at the wall finishes business as a lucrative step into the world of art.  So, before taking your class, I did start playing in my own home, and some friends' homes, to get a feel for some of the things I could do.  I did some mural work, tried some other wall applications, played around with color in some other rooms, and well, the thought of pulling what I was SLOWLY learning into a business... was daunting to say the least.  Re-inventing the wheel was not making sense, and it was not going to make me any money.  I can only imagine the messes I could have gotten myself into.

This may seem unartistic of me, but one of my main goals in coming to your class was to find hard answers about industrializing my skills so that they would make money.  Another goal was to learn from truly artistic people, so that I could use this field as a way to appease my drive to create and learn new things to take to canvas.

The financial needs I had were to get back into the workforce partime, doing something I liked, pay for the materials I needed for canvas art, and find a skill to fall back on (for full-time income) if anything tragic were to happen in our family and I did not get to be the mom at home.

Kelly, you have taken a huge chunk of my concerns and washed them down those utility sinks in your studio.

Kelly, thank you so much.  I genuinely think that you have done an excellent job with this class.  I am looking forward to seeing you and everyone else again in another class (which one???).  I don't know.  I'll have to think of some questions to ask you.  I want a real piece of the action.  I never do anything half-way, so taking this class has saved me so much of the headache of my perfectionist side.  I am stoked that I found you guys!!!

See ya,
Thanks again,

Bethanne Hathcock
Chandler, AZ

P.S.  Oh, I guess I was going to ask you some questions.  I'll ask later.  My baby just woke up.


April 25, 2005

Hey Kelly,

Just wanted to send you a quick email to say thank you.  Char and I can't thank you enough for all the time you spent teaching us not only how to decorative paint, but how to run our business and personal life.  This class has been a great experience for the both of us.

I just wanted to tell you that someone once told me that there are only two things that can change a man's life: the books you read and the people you meet.  After taking your class now, I can reflect and see that this saying is so true.  Your class has been a life changing experience for the both of us, and we can't thank you enough!

I'm going to sign up for the Decorative Furniture & Accessories Finishing class today and put my order in for materials.  If you need anything please call us, and we hope to see you in Vegas soon!

Thanks again,

Tom and Charlene Fraser
Las Vegas, NV


March 4, 2005

Dear Kelly,

My clients are amazed with my Intricacies portfolio - they think I am a "genius", to use their words.  Should I tell them it's you?  I think I shall hint only a little - as an artist's ego can always use a little stroking!  But seriously, thank you very much.

I hired a new employee yesterday, and she will be in your Mastering Designer & Architectural Wall Finishes class this Monday, March 7.  She is talented, and I believe with her excitement, a little hard work and training, she'll do great.  I leave her in your extremely capable hands.

Take Care,

Heather Mueller
Metamorphosis Finishing
Ogden, UT


December 20, 2004

Hi Kelly,

We just want to thank you again for being who you are, and for enriching our creative minds and hands with new tools and tricks of the trade!  We are passionate about our work, and with all the great stuff that we have added to our portfolios that we learned with your courses, we are becoming better and better.

When people ask me how long I have been doing this and where I learned my trade, I always like to reply that I was practically born with a paintbrush in my hand, but that over the course of the past 14 years or so, I have been blessed to have encountered some true geniuses in my field throughout the world and my travels that have left a marked impression on me and influenced my work.  Andrejs Ritins was one, and you are another.  I am very grateful for the opportunity to have met you, and both Scott and I look forward to years of friendship, learning and good times (and steak or buffalo eating contests!).

If your ears are buzzing throughout the day, it is simply because we relish the opportunities that we have to speak highly of you to other faux finishers, and let them know there is no point in going to ANY other school.  As a matter of fact, there is a husband-and-wife couple that we know here in Naples, and they will be going to one of your courses in Seattle in 2005.  They are very talented, and I know you would enjoy their presence in your class.

We met with some new clients yesterday and blew them away with our portfolio, so we will have a new job in April when they get their C/O.  The entire home will be done in a French Provincial style, and we already chose about six finishes combined with some of our stone portfolio from the past.

We also floored another client last week.  He actually told us he "surrenders!"  We only got half way through our Mastering Designer & Architectural Wall Finishes portfolio, and he didn't need to see any more.  So we got the job, and are starting his condo in February, with five finishes from Mastering Designer & Architectural Wall Finishes, all in different combinations of earth browns and willows.

Please let us know when you are in Florida, we would love to see you!

Anna and Scott
Scottsdale, AZ


December 6, 2004

Kelly,

You must get so many e-mails, but I know eventually you will get to this one, and I wanted to tell you how much your class meant to me.  I thought I was weird or something because one of my favorite past-times is to imagine different ways to paint walls, decorate or embellish.  I still have this weird fascination with ornamentation and architectural elements.  My idea of a good time is looking at old buildings or new interesting ones.

The problem was that what I imagined never came out right.  Others would say it was a good job but I was never satisfied.  Like I told you in class after I discovered your school, I knew I had to be there.  I really did have great expectations, and you exceeded them!

Your business part of the class was also something I had been struggling with and I now I feel confident in knowing how and what to charge.

I don't know how you were able to teach so much without being exhausted, but you did it, and if you were waning at the end, you did a great job of hiding it.  I love your passion and zeal, and you have been blessed with a great talent.  I know you have taught many people, but I feel a very personal sense of gratitude that I wish you could know.  God has given you a great talent, you are doing what you were created to do (at least one of the things).  Thank you for sharing that talent with others - especially me!&nbps; Thank you, thank you, thank you.

God bless you and your family,

Denita Winstead
Bates City, MO

PS. I hope to see you in Intricacies class!


December 5, 2004

Kelly,

I just wanted to thank you for providing a wonderful and stimulating experience in your Mastering Designer & Architectural Wall Finishes class.  I can't begin to tell you how much it has helped me, not only with the great finishes, but I wish I had taken your business seminar ten years ago.  I can see where it applies in any business.  In my area, cattle feeding is the main industry.  You can see that the ones who succeed are the ones who watch their numbers on a daily basis.  Thanks to your class, I now have the tools to be successful at something I love doing.

Thanks also for sharing your amazing finishes with us.  All week I was thinking that the possibilities are endless with all these great materials.  I can't wait to get started.  I think my five year old daughter summed up the week quite nicely.  When she saw my class samples, she said, "Wow.  That looks like money."  I couldn't agree more.

Thanks again for everything,

Michael Glaubius
Wisner, NE


August 8, 2004

Hi Kelly,

We know that you receive a lot of emails every day, but we thought that it was important that you know how much we appreciate all of your acts of kindness and generosity, which are too numerous to list in one letter.  We came home from Omaha with our minds overflowing with ideas and thoughts, and at this point we have been unable to shut the valves off (hence, no sleep!).

We feel so fortunate to have made your acquaintance, and certainly look forward to a long and lasting friendship.  Vegas gave us the opportunity to meet you, Omaha gave us the opportunity to get to know you better, and our first impressions of you were certainly confirmed that you were someone we wanted learn from.  Having been in this industry for the past 15 years, we have had the occasion to meet many talented and gifted people, and also to learn many secrets of the trade and techniques which have helped us to establish and differentiate ourselves from the competition.

Based on what we've learned so far from someone we consider to be the leader, we truly feel that all this and the courses yet to come (Decorative Furniture & Accessories Finishing and Intricacies) will catapult us to a whole new level in our business, both creatively and from a business perspective.

We cannot thank you enough for the insight and the instruction.  We hope that in return, we were able to contribute back to you the satisfaction of knowing that we walked away with a wealth of information that will be put to good use starting tomorrow morning!

We hope that you consider our thoughts on The Fauxcademy of Decorative Finishing becoming an annual event, and if so, put us down for 2 tickets! (Vegas, Vegas, Vegas!)

See you in a week,
Take care,

Anna and Scott
Scottsdale, AZ


August 2003

Dear Kelly,

Earlier this year I attended Mastering Designer & Architectural Wall Finishes in Seattle.  First of all, I want to commend you on putting together a top-notch facility and staff in Seattle.  It provided a comfortable learning environment for those really long days you put us through.  Your love for the industry and believing in what you do were very apparent.  Your energy level was unbelievable!

I took Mastering Designer & Architectural Wall Finishes to add another facet to my residential remodeling business.  My focus for the business was interior finishes of all types.  Decorative wall finishes was a natural step for me.  Since the class, I've marketed my new found skill with many designers.  We had a booth at the NW Women's Show where we won "Best of Show".

After meeting several designers, I was offered rooms in two different houses in the "2003 Seattle Street of Dreams" to showcase my work.  The show has been going on now for two weeks, and I'm already getting calls.  The designers that I worked with love the finishes I did and the finishes have been getting lots of press.

During the application process in those houses, I had questions, and you were always right there to help me along.  Thank you for your encouragement during the class and all your support since then.  I've learned a lot about wall finishes and being a business owner.  Thanks again.  See you soon, in another class.

Russ Kay
Owner
KRK's Residential Remodel
Los Angeles, CA


July 28, 2003

Hi Kelly,

I attended your Mastering Designer & Architectural Wall Finishes class back in March in Omaha.  I never got a chance to thank you for such a great experience.  I could not believe how much I learned in such a short time.  The long boring drive from Minneapolis was well worth it.

I wanted you to know that I have been putting all I learned to good use.  The day I got home after taking the class I ordered a ton of supplies and have been going strong ever since.  I turned an entire room into a studio for my sample making, and I have many more projects planned.  My poor husband and his credit card!

My husband (who was very skeptical about this whole thing) is a painting contractor, and he took my samples to work with him to show the contractor he subs from.  The guy was blown away.  He said my samples made his regular faux finisher look like a first grader.  He now wants a full set of samples to show.  I expect to be pretty busy come this winter.  I also have another contractor interested and wanting to work with me.

I've also been doing well on my own.  I'm finding I'm becoming an in-high-demand faux finisher.  I was working every now and then before I took this class doing murals and handpainted wall designs, and this has helped me to expand on what I was already doing.

Once again, I cannot thank you enough.  I had such a great time... didn't want to go home, in fact.  I made a few friends, and we keep in contact through email.  We trade tips.

I'm hoping to come back and take some more classes to expand my portfolio and learn what some of the other products are for.  I'm very interested in the Beginning to Intermediate Marble & Semi-Precious Stone class.

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

Dawn Pehling
Minneapolis, MN

P.S.  I remember someone saying they couldn't find the animal head lace anywhere.  I'm not sure if it was someone from the school.  I found a ton of it at the fabric store near me.  If it was you, let me know, and I can send you their information.

P.P.S.  I LOVE my trowel!


July, 2003

Dear Kelly,

I can't thank you enough for all you taught me in Seattle in Mastering Designer & Architectural Wall Finishes.  I returned to Portland and immediately got on the phone to the two designers I've been able to contact so far.  They had jobs waiting for me upon my return.  I'm turning an 18' high circa 1970s black lava rock fireplace into a tan river rock masterpiece.  I have a dining room and powder room that will require an allover damask stencil pattern.

Also, oddly, three fantail goldfish painted on a toilet seat lid!!!  When I showed that homeowner my new vastly improved portfolio, she said, "Wow!  I've had seven faux finishers do work in my house, and I've never seen such a nice portfolio!  Can you fix that ugly white marble fireplace?"  I said, "Of course I could!"

I'm also completing a sign for a farm using a mural that I've previously painted.  Things are certainly opening up.  I've spent the last two days at high end furniture stores doing the sample "trick" you taught us--taking a few samples into the store and saying I'm looking for something for a client.  Works every time!  I've put so many miles on that portfolio it's due for a tune up already!

I can honestly say that if I hadn't taken your class, I would not have had the confidence or the know how to even think of bidding on these jobs.  Thank you, thank you a million times.  I can't wait to take Decorative Furniture & Accessories Finishing.

Speaking of the fireplace, I love the picture you have of the one that I think you said Jason completed in Denver.  I thought that pic was posted on your web site, but I don't see it there.  It's sort of a copper or bronze color.  Would it be possible for you to email me that picture?  That is somewhat the idea I was thinking of for the client who wants the marble fireplace redone.  If it's proprietary, I certainly understand, but I can't seem to convey my idea to her.

Thanks a bunch.  I really appreciate all your help.  You are truly a Godsend.

Schon Roll
Schon Designs, LLC
Gladstone, OR

P.S. Tell Sydney hello!


February 10, 2003

Hi Kelly,

I have an awesome story to share with you.  I'm sharing this because I know in my heart if it weren't for your instruction and support in this industry, it wouldn't have happened to me.

Just before Christmas 2002, I decided to stop in the model home of a very high end custom home builder to see if any faux finishing had been done.  Well, in the middle of (one of the great rooms!) the ceiling with a dome had been crackled and cans of regular spray paint were still present.  This home is currently under construction, by the way.  The crackled effect on the ceiling dome was poorly executed, and out of place being a crackle finish on a ceiling (in my opinion anyway).  Let's not underestimate the stupidity of some people, "Is that a leak or what up there?"

Anyway, the foreman approached me and I asked, "Who did your ceiling?"  He looked up and frowned and said the guys who paint for us.  BAM!  I was in, and I knew it.  So, I basically said, I'm a professional faux finisher and gave them my pitch.  "You can not have this low quality craftsmanship in this type of home.  This house deserves the professional touch.  I would love to redo it for you for a trade off of advertisement.  Tell the builder, John, I'll be calling him."

I contacted John after the holidays, and we agreed to set up a meeting.  When I arrived at John's oKSKce, I was met by his wife who claimed that John was too busy and could not meet with me, but she was going to.  I could tell that at this point she was doing him a favor by getting me out of his hair and busy schedule.  Ha ha ha!  Guess whose house is now being totally faux finished by me????  I'm now doing the entire personal residence of John the builder!!  Her original demeanor of "can we make this quick" became "Oh my God!  I want this here and that there, this is wonderful, I'm so excited, this is amazing." 

I hope you know that without your class teaching the techniques and the business seminar, I would have never had the nerve or ability to take on these types of jobs or customers.  It would have been way too intimidating.  If people only knew that the investment in the classes is so minimal in comparison to what can be earned in the field, we would all have a lot more competition!  Now that should be the KSK secret!

See you in June for furniture class!

Angel Crawford
Indianapolis, IN


February 1, 2003

Hi everyone at KSK,

It's been 4 months since taking your class in Seattle.  I recently was in a trade show for faux finishers in our area, Sonoma County, CA, and was with around 10-15 other faux finishers.  The response I got was that my finishes were the best in the show, and that was just showing the portfolio I developed in your class.  In fact, some of the other faux finishers wanted to come to work for me.

Thank you again for your commitment to excellence.  As you know, it's making a difference in our field.  I am hoping to either take more classes in the future or to send an employee to get trained in your finishes.

Thanks again,

Chris Henry
Chris Henry Designs
Santa Rosa, CA


Fall 2002

Dear Kelly,

Ever since I have taken the classes at The Kelly S. King Academy of Faux Painting & Decorative Finishing, Inc., I wanted to let you know what an inspiration you all have been to me.  But when I read the article in The Faux Finisher magazine about The Fauxcademy of Decorative Finishing you put on for other faux finishers, I had to write to thank you.

Your belief in others and the truly sincere desire to help others to succeed is amazing and appreciated!  Although I am not at a job right now where my heart is in it, just the desire to help others, motivated by your efforts, has increased the challenge to do better at it.  My aspirations are to sometime in the near future expend all my energies in a field I love- art and faux finishing.  Like Napoleon Hill said, "Whatever your mind can conceive and believe, your mind can achieve."

Thanks, Kelly, and may God bless you and your efforts.

Kelly S


August, 2002

Dear Kelly,

I just wanted to drop a quick note to let you know the faux finish class we took from you was absolutely wonderful.  I can honestly say that the four of us in our group who attended your workshop got excellent value for the money spent.  Our samples turned out great, and we are looking forward to making a lot of money from this new skill.  We already have booked over $20,000.00 in Faux finish work in our first month.

Thanks again for a fun and very informative class.  Your professionalism and easy-going teaching style made the experience most enjoyable.

Respectfully,

Lynn H. Fife
President
Evergreen Technology
Los Angeles, CA


April, 2002

Dear Kelly,

My primary career has always been in modeling.  I have been in the business for almost twenty years, and I have worked for many magazines, top designers, and photographers.  I did a fashion show for Armani in Naples, a photo shoot with Carolos Orsi in Sicily, The Italian magazine Linea Ohmo used me for an editorial spread shot by Fabritzo Ferre in Ferr's home in Tuscany.

Here in the States, I have worked for JC Penney, Nike, GTE, Sony and many more.  Today, you can see me in commercials for TGI Friday's restaurant and Texas tourism.

In the early eighties, I lived one hundred yards form the Da Vinci painting of "The Last Supper" in Milan.  The colors and beauty will be forever etched in my memory.  I traveled all over Europe for five years, experienced and took in plenty.  I was exposed to the art and history of countries like Italy, France, and Spain.

I have always been a creative individual.  I majored in Industrial Arts in college.  When my wife and I met you in the Dallas Home and Garden Show, I told her that you could be the man that changed my life forever.  I have been right all of my life with my first impressions, and with you, that was no different.  Your display took me back to my time in Europe.  Your Faux finishes captured the spirit of the Old World.

I took my first class under you directly after that show.  As soon as I returned home, I began my own business, called Artworks.  Combining my own creative instincts with techniques learned in your classes, I have established a successful company with a broad client base, including both residential and commercial jobs.

I want to thank you for your help and guidance, not only with my techniques, but also with my business.  You have truly been an inspiration to me.  You are a great person, and a wonderful teacher.

Your friend from Texas,

Doyle Terry
Dallas, TX


2001

Dear Kelly King,

Words could hardly describe my heart-felt thanks and my appreciation for the skills, experience, and talents that were so absorbable in your 2-Day Quick Start Faux Finish Class.  It is energizing that your ability to teach a class to homeowners and professionals keeps the class interesting, busy, and full of so many ideas!  Your personal knowledge of the finishes is easily demonstrated by your confidence in the art and your ability to demonstrate your craft to people of all skill levels.  You made us all feel like your personal friends.

I have been an artist and painter for eighteen years, and a painting contractor for eleven years.  I am encouraged, excited, and regenerated to continue in the field for years to come!  I have been to many classes and seminars.  During some, I caught myself pondering over the money spent for the session and how it is old news, but yours was full of new techniques, styles, and ideas.

Thank you, Kelly, and your fine staff for all your efforts.

Sincerely yours,

Greg K. Laurence
Owner
GKL Painting
Elsberry, MO


2001

Dear Kelly,

This letter is to let you know how much I enjoyed your 2-Day Quick Start Faux Finish Class on the finer points of faux finishing.  The samples we produced were beautiful and made an excellent presentation for my portfolio.  Your instruction was clear, and at a speed which made the learning easy, fast, and most importantly, enjoyable.

Keep up the good work, and feel free to use us as a reference.  I highly recommend your classes to anyone who wants to get serious with this creative art form.

Sincerely,

Dena Fife
Owner
Go With The Faux
Arlington, TX


2000

Hi, I'm Dean Johnson with Hometime.

Recently we had the pleasure of working with The Painting Pros, Inc. and The Kelly S. King Academy of Faux Painting & Decorative Finishing, Inc.  Working with Master Decorative Painter Kelly S. King was a very enjoyable and educating experience.  His knowledge and expertise in this field is impeccable.  His faux finish samples are some of the best I've seen.  I would highly recommend The Painting Pros, Inc. for your painting needs.

And for the individual interested in a career opportunity in faux finishing and decorative painting of walls, woodwork, and accessories, I would also recommend attending one of the classes at The Kelly S. King Academy of Faux Painting & Decorative Finishing, Inc.  It was my pleasure working with such a fine craftsman.

Sincerely,

Dean Johnson
Hometime


December 13, 1999

Dear Kelly,

As a rule, I very seldom make any post comments about a show or workshop, but after my experience with you and your staff I felt compelled to share my thoughts and impressions.

First, let me say that you and your staff made this a most enjoyable experience from the first contact via the telephone to the last day in class.  I have attended many classes and/or seminars, in another professions, and had a few preconceived ideas as to what to expect, but for the most part was pleasantly surprised to find that I was incorrect in my assumptions.

Not only were you in command of the knowledge, which we all came to gain, but so was your support staff.  You and your staff functioned as a team with only a few minor hitches, which were to be expected since this was the first class in your location.

I have come to expect some gaps in knowledge or an instructor so boring that he or she will put you to sleep.  With your hands-on, fast-paced approach, and a class size allowing you to personally visit with each student and give instant feedback, the time was well spent from my perspective.  I would also like to say that your insight into the business side of faux painting was much appreciated.

I want to thank you and your staff again for this great learning experience.  Your teaching techniques and your business insights have been of great help to me, and when I am able to turn this knowledge into a successful business, I will owe much thanks to you.

Sincerely,

Bill Moon
Crescent Moon Wall Finishes
Plano, TX


April, 1999

Dear Mr. King,

CONGRATULATIONS to The Kelly S. King Academy of Faux Painting & Decorative Finishing, Inc.!!  Your display was selected FIRST PLACE winner for the MOST INFORMATIVE EXHIBIT at the 1999 Omaha Home & Garden Expo held Tuesday, March 23rd through Sunday, March 28th, 1999 at the Omaha Civic Auditorium.

The Midwest's largest Home Expo is regarded as one of the most beautiful shows presented each year for the Omaha area, and booth judging was extremely difficult because of so many outstanding presentations by our participating exhibitors.

Enclosed, please find your FIRST PLACE AWARD for the MOST INFORMATIVE EXHIBIT in the 1999 Omaha Home & Garden Expo.

Thank you for your participation, and the best of success to your company throughout the year.

Sincerely,

Robert P. Mancuso
Director of Exhibits,
Omaha Home & Garden Expo

back
next




replace with your keywords replace with your keywords replace with your keywords replace with your keywords replace with your keywords replace with your keywords replace with your keywords replace with your keywords